Take Action on 2019 Nonprofit Tax Day

May 14, 2019

Wednesday, May 15th is the first-ever Nonprofit Tax Day. As a result of the 2017 tax law, many nonprofits have to make payments, including a tax on what we spend to help employees or volunteers get to work. Everyone recognizes that taxing tax-exempts is an oxymoron; it’s something that makes you shake your head in disbelief. Let Congress hear about it now and see if we can get them to take notice!

Here’s why something big is needed: Without some intervening event, Congress will likely do nothing to fix tax problems this year. We need to make Senators and Representatives care that, due to their inaction, money is being diverted from missions in their communities to pay the unfair and unjustifiable tax on nonprofit transportation benefits.

Nonprofit Tax Day Twitter Campaign

Join us, the National Council of Nonprofits, and nonprofits around the country in sending and promoting tweets calling attention to the day and the need for repeal of the transportation tax. Here is what you should do now:

    1.  Broadly retweet messages from @NatlCouncilNPs, #NonprofitTaxDay, and other organizations calling attention to the day;
    2.  Retweet messages directly to the Twitter handles of your Representatives and Maryland’s Senators – these are listed below;
    3.  Tweet your Representatives and Senators and deliver this simple message: “.[Representative/Senator’s Twitter Handle] May 15 is #NonprofitTaxDay because you & your colleagues have not yet repealed taxes on #nonprofits enacted in 2017. Cosponsor bills to repeal IRC Sec 512a7 to prevent millions of more dollars being diverted from missions to pay taxes on tax-exempt orgs.”

Maryland Congressional Twitter Handles

Senator Ben Cardin https://twitter.com/SenatorCardin
Senator Chris Van Hollen Jr http://www.twitter.com/ChrisVanHollen
Representative Andy Harris MD-01 http://www.twitter.com/repandyharrismd
Representative Dutch Ruppersberger MD-02 https://twitter.com/Call_Me_Dutch
Representative John Sarbanes MD-03 https://twitter.com/RepSarbanes
Representative Anthony Brown MD-04 https://twitter.com/RepAnthonyBrown
Representative Steny Hoyer MD-05 https://twitter.com/LeaderHoyer
Representative David Trone MD-06 https://twitter.com/repdavidtrone
Representative Elijah Cummings MD-07 https://twitter.com/RepCummings
Representative Jamie Raskin MD-08 https://twitter.com/repraskin